ClevelanDish

A Guide to Dining, Eating and Cooking in Cleveland, Ohio

Gypsy Beans and Baking Company: Run by Gypsies? April 18, 2008

Filed under: lunch,Restaurant Reviews — jenniferferf @ 10:03 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

Gypsy Beans and Baking Company
6425 Detroit Avenue
Cleveland, OH 44102
Phone: 216.939.9009

On Monday for lunch, I was determined to find decent takeout, having left my soup on the counter at home. With Dish Global Deli being closed Mondays, and having exhausted the menu selections at Souper Market, I ventured forth into unknown territory: the Detroit Shoreway neighborhood.

I ended up at the Gypsy Beans and Baking Company in the Detroit Shoreway neighborhood, west of downtown, near the public theatre. I’ve gone there twice before, and both times my attempts to get there were thwarted by the lack of parking due to the blizzard.

The atmosphere was a really cool local coffee hangout, but I definitely don’t recommend the lunch. The service was a little sketchy, and their menu selections were rather lacking.

The pizza was good until I figured out that the dough wasn’t cooked all the way through. (Do Gypsies eat pizza? Or salad? Or coffee, for that matter?) The lady serving me didn’t seem to know what they had from their menu that was available.

During the ten minutes I was in there, I had several cryptic conversations with her, which went something like this.

Me: “I just like to get something for lunch to go.”
Her: “What?”
Me: “I’d just like to get some lunch for takeout, please.”
Her: “Huh? What?”
Me: “To go. I want to get lunch to go.”
Her: “Oh.”

And then with the salad…
Her: “What kind of salad dressing would you like?”
Me: “I don’t know, Italian?”
Her: “Oh wait, we only ever have one kind.”

They did have an array of indulgent treats in their pastry case, including cookies the size of personal pizzas. All of the pastries were so unnecessarily oversized, however, that they were almost unappetizing.

Also, I might add that on their website, they call themselves a “bistro” with “the freshest seasonal ingredients prepared with worldly influences.” In what universe is marginally cooked, mediocre pizza a good idea? The only thing they had fresh was the iceberg lettuce in my salad. What kind of bistro is this???

Overall disappointing, but I’ll go back to try their coffee!

Gypsy Beans & Baking Co. in Cleveland

 

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.